Trip to Trinidad: Performing Outside Your Home Culture

I will be traveling to Trinidad and Tobago for the semi-finals of Panorama. I am playing double seconds with Birdsong, a steel band performing an arrangement by Andy Narell. I have been learning the music for the past six weeks from sheet music and am now working to memorize the music before flying out later in January.

Other are in Trinidad right now learning the music through rote methods (by ear, imitating physical movement, or a combination of methods). I’m excited about the opportunity to work with musicians from all over the world during my visit.

I’ll be updating my blog regularly . . . I know it’s about time I got back to it. I’m asking my world music survey course to follow this blog as they are studying Caribbean music (with a focus on steelpan) in my course.

Leave a Reply

